Winners Announced in Texas Institute of Letters Competitions

From the Texas Institute of Letters:

Austin resident Tom Zigal took top prize Saturday evening in the Texas Institute of Letters’ literary competition for works published in 2013, claiming the $6,000 Jesse H. Jones Fiction award for his novel, Many Rivers To Cross, published by TCU Press, Institute President W.K. Stratton said.


TIL member Rolando Hinojosa-Smith, a past recipient of the Lon Tinkle Award, was recognized for his recent honor of being named winner of the National Book Critic Circle’s Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award. Austin authors Lawrence Wright and John Talia ferro split the nonfiction Carr P. Collins prize, Wright winning for his book Going Clear: Scientology, Hollywood, and the Prison of Belief, published by Knopf, and Taliaferro winning for his book All the Great Prizes: The Life of John Hay from Lincoln to Roosevelt, published by Simon and Schuster.

Wright and Taliaferro split the prize of $5,000. Co-winners are rare in TIL competition. Author and journalist Jan Reid of Austin received the Lon Tinkle Award for a distinguished career in letters associated with Texas. Reid is the award-winning author of numerous books, both fiction and nonfiction, including the Jesse H. Jones Fiction award winner Comanche Sundown and the acclaimed biography of Ann Richards Let the People In. Reid is also known as
one of the first contributors to Texas Monthly, publishing his first article in the magazine the year it was founded. Early on in his writing career, Reid was a Dobie Paisano Fellow. The Dobie Paisano Fellowship program is  administered by the University of Texas and the Texas Institute of Letters.


* * *



About Sandra Fernandez

Sandra Fernandez is a social media and public relations consultant, tech enthusiast, book lover, and blogger. You can find her main blog at and more of her writing at

Follow her on Twitter, subscribe to her Facebook posts, or circle her on Google+.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: