John Cotton Dana awards submissions and winners

2013.12 john-cotton-danaThe American Library Association (ALA) is now accepting submissions for the John Cotton Dana Award (JCD). The award, which is managed by the Library Leadership and Management Association (LLAMA) division of ALA, honors outstanding library public relations. Eight $10,000 awards are granted each year by the H.W. Wilson Foundation and the annual Awards Ceremony is sponsored by the ALA and EBSCO Information Services.

“A new site has been created for the 2014 JCD entries which allows all entries to be submitted electronically. Entry documents are available at: ALA LLAMA Division Executive Director Kerry Ward says the new site should streamline the submission process and make it easier for eligible organizations to submit an entry. “This new site, spearheaded by the new JCD Committee Chair, Sally Lederer, provides librarians with an easier process for pulling together their submissions and the judges will also benefit from the online process.” Entries must be received by February 14, 2014.” (info from EBSCO)

About the John Cotton Dana Award

The John Cotton Dana Award, provided in conjunction with the H.W. Wilson Foundation, the American Library Association and EBSCO, honors outstanding library public relations, whether a summer reading program, a year-long centennial celebration, fundraising for a new college library, an awareness campaign or an innovative partnership in the community.

In recognition of their achievement, John Cotton Dana award winners receive a cash award from the H.W. Wilson Foundation. The John Cotton Dana Awards are presented at an elegant reception hosted by EBSCO held during the American Library Association annual conference.

2013 Winners
Check out the 2013 John Cotton Dana Award Winners on The ‘M’ Word – Marketing Libraries:

  • The Craighead County Jonesboro Public Library – Arkansas
  • In 2010 Hood River County Library, Oregon
  • The Lawrence Public Library, Kansas
  • Mid-Continent Public Library, Missouri
  • Richland Library, South Carolina
  • Texas Tech University Library, Texas

You can view the winning entries online.

%d bloggers like this: