2014 Caldecott Medal Winner & Honor Books

** Some links are affiliate. **

The 2014 winning book for the Caldecott Medal has been chosen. The selection Locomotive, illustrated by Brian Floca, is the 2014 Caldecott Medal winner. The book was written by Brian Floca and published by Atheneum Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing. In addition, several books were chosen as the 2014 Honor Books:

  • Journey, written and illustrated by Aaron Becker and published by Candlewick Press
  • Flora and the Flamingo, written and illustrated by Molly Idle and published by Chronicle Books LLC
  • Mr. Wuffles! written and illustrated by David Wiesner and published by Clarion Books, an imprint of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company

About Locomotive

All aboard! Accompany a family on an unforgettable weeklong train trip from Omaha to Sacramento in 1869. Brian Floca’s dramatic watercolor, ink, acrylic and gouache illustrations incorporate meticulously-researched portraits of the train, the travelers and the crew as they traverse the American landscape on the new transcontinental railroad.

From the committee: “The committee was impressed with Floca’s ability to creatively capture the immensity and inner workings of the early locomotive and combine it with a family’s adventurous journey west,” said Caldecott Medal Committee Chair Marion Hanes Rutsch.”

* * *


About Sandra Fernandez

Sandra Fernandez is a social media and public relations consultant, tech enthusiast, book lover, and blogger. You can find her main blog at and more of her writing at

Follow her on Twitter, subscribe to her Facebook posts, or circle her on Google+.


  1. […] 2014 Caldecott Medal Winner & Honor Books (Library PR) […]

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: